Fast food strikes intensify in seven cities

Josh  Eidelson reports in  Salon

This morning marks the start of what will likely be the largest fast food worker mobilization in U.S. history, with a New York City walkout today kicking off strikes in seven cities over four days. These work stoppages by non-union workers are the latest escalation in an embattled labor movement’s unprecedented challenge to the overwhelmingly non-union industry, whose ranks are growing and whose conditions are spreading elsewhere in the U.S. economy.

“I know you’re tired of suffering,” KFC employee Naquasia LeGrand told fellow workers gathered with clergy and politicians at a rally last Wednesday announcing that New York City worker-activists had voted to strike this week. “I don’t want to see the next generation suffering and suffering. I don’t want my kids suffering. I want to make sure they have a better future than I do.” Looking out on a crowd of about 150 at the entrance to Brooklyn’s Prospect Park, LeGrand added, “So if I want that to happen, I need you guys to stand with me just as long as I’m standing with you.”

Read the rest here.

One Response

  1. Fast food employees should be payed at least twice as much. Without out them nobody would get fed fast food, just think about it. KFC is pretty good, but Carl’s Jr. employees should get paid the most.

    People can’t even pay for an apartment on they’re measly minimum wage salaries. Things’ve gotta change soon

Leave a Reply

