Boston DSA to honor local activists

Boston DSA is proud to honor three of Boston’s best activists at this year’s annual awards reception: Jennifer Doe, Shelagh Foreman, and Andi Mullin. Honorary Chairs for our event are Brian Corr,Director of the Cambridge Peace Commission; Harris Gruman, Political Director for Massachusetts SEIU; State Representative Denise Provost, and Rand Wilson, SEIU Local 888. It will be hosted by Dick and Roberta Bauer; Dick is a longtime leader in UAW local 2320 and the NE Jewish Labor Committee, and Roberta has served many years as an elected member of the Somerville School Committee.

Jennifer Doe has spent the last 10 years as an organizer for Jobs With Justice, primarily responsible for worker organizing and labor support. Prior to that she monitored and recovered workers’ back wages in Worcester County for the Foundation for Fair Contracting, organized Community and Political Outreach for the Pioneer Valley Building Trades, and headed Research and Strategic Campaigns for the Laborers’ Union Eastern Region.

Shelagh Foreman is Program Director of Massachusetts Peace Action (MAPA) and a core member of 20/20 Action, an Amherst based peace and environmental group. Shelagh has worked for more than three decades on nuclear disarmament, represents Peace Action on the Political Committee of Mass Alliance, and is chair of MAPA’s Iran Task Force. She is also a painter and print maker who has studied art or taught art history at the Cooper Union, Columbia University and the Museum School.

Andi Mullin, Director of the Campaign for Our Communities, has led the struggle to fund our state’s essential public services through progressive taxation. From 2007–2011 Andi wasDirector of Legislation and Governmental Affairs for the Massachusetts Nurses Association, and before that served as Legislative Agent for AFSCME Council 93. She has also been in the leadership of other progressive groups ranging from Mass Alliance and NOW to the Committee for Boston Public Housing and RESPOND, which provides services to battered women and their childre

2013 Democratic Socialists of America Awards Reception
WHEN: Friday, June 7: 6 pm Social, 7 pm Program
WHERE: 58 Berkeley St., Somerville

The awards our honorees will be given are named after DSA Founding Chair Michael Harrington and A. Philip Randolph, or Gene Debs, Norman Thomas and Julius Bernstein—all democratic socialist leaders of the last century active in the labor, civil rights and peace movements of their time who embody thevalues DSA seeks to carry on today. These awards have been given since 1977 to honor deserving activists; past recipients include Rand Wilson, Matt Taibbi and Sen. Patricia Jehlen. Admission is $35 ($15 low income), which includes hors d’oeurves and an open bar. So join us on June 7!

For more information and to order tickets.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: